Jukka Eskola – 1974

I first heard this tune being played during the intermission of an outdoor jazz concert and was totally blown away by the opening. One of the best jazz openings I’ve ever heard – intricate plucking of the double bass accompanied by smooth piano chords in the opening were good enough to get me to grab my phone and Shazam the song.

It then leads into a repetitive yet somehow mysteriously addictive melody which is well played in sync by Finnish trumpeter Jukka Eskola and a tenor sax from his accompanying band. I’m happy to say that I played this on repeat for the next few weeks.

Jukka Eskola - 1974
Photo by Andre Benz
Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

